UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

Cuts of 5.9 Percent Would Yield ‘Significant, Lasting Damage’

050510Headline_BudgetOn Monday, Chancellor Linda P. Brady sent a letter to the faculty and staff, as well as a letter to friends of the university. She addressed Gov. Beverly Perdue’s proposed state budget for 2010-11.

“We are grateful the Governor supported the Board of Governors’ alternative tuition proposal and recommended full funding for our projected enrollment growth and need-based financial aid,” she stated. “However, we are deeply concerned that UNCG will suffer significant and lasting damage to the quality of instruction provided to our students, if budget cuts rise to the level recommended by the Governor – which total 5.9% or $154 million for the UNC System. This is almost four percent more than the University had planned for and committed to during last year’s budget cycle.” UNCG’s Faculty and Staff Senates planned to vote this week on resolutions opposing the proposed cuts. The text of Chancellor Brady’s letter to faculty and staff is below:

May 3, 2010

To: Faculty and Staff
From: Linda P. Brady, Chancellor
Subject: Legislative Call to Action

To emerge from this deep economic recession stronger than ever, we must remain steadfast in our commitment to preserving access to affordable, quality higher education. Last month Governor Perdue released her proposed state budget for 2010-11. We are grateful the Governor supported the Board of Governors’ alternative tuition proposal, and recommended full funding for our projected enrollment growth and need-based financial aid.

However, we are deeply concerned that UNCG will suffer significant and lasting damage to the quality of instruction provided to our students, if budget cuts rise to the level recommended by the Governor – which total 5.9% or $154 million for the UNC System. This is almost four percent more than the University had planned for and committed to during last year’s budget cycle.

For the first time in several years, leadership at General Administration has urged us to organize a concerted effort to respond to the Governor’s proposed budget.

UNCG is first and foremost committed to protecting core academic functions and opportunities for student success. However, the proposed budget reduction would cut directly into our academic core and significantly reduce the quality of academic instruction and the student experience at UNCG. Any new cuts of nearly 6% would result in not only further increases in class size and fewer course offerings, but also significantly reduced services outside of the classroom for our students. Students would see fewer academic advisors, fewer financial aid officers, and fewer mental health counselors. This is especially worrisome because the number of students using counseling services at UNCG has increased by about one-third since 2007.

The Legislature convenes May 12th and the budget process will move very swiftly. We therefore ask you to contact your House and Senate representative and any other state elected officials with whom you have a relationship THIS WEEK, urging them to hold University reductions to a minimum. Individual telephone calls and e-mail messages are appropriate; however, mass e-mails sent to multiple legislators at one time are typically ineffective. I also encourage you to engage the public by writing letters to the editor for publication in your local newspapers. Attached [below] you will find the contact information for state legislators.

Please underscore that any cuts above the 2% level already included in next year’s budget by the General Assembly will cut directly into our academic core and erode the quality of education we can offer our students. Attached is a detailed outline of the results a nearly 6% cut will have on UNCG. I ask that you emphasize any new cuts of nearly 6% would negatively impact the academic experience for students at UNCG. Please share the outcome of your conversations or communications with Mike Tarrant, Special Assistant to the Chancellor (mike_tarrant@uncg.edu or 336-501-2673).

I will keep you posted on new developments as they become available. This promises to be a very challenging legislative session, and UNCG will need your ongoing support. Thank you.

State employees: please remember your assistance is voluntary, and that all contact with legislators should be done on your own time without the use of state equipment; including your computer, state e-mail account, cell phone, etc.

For those of you living outside Guilford County, please visit the following link in order to find the contact information for your local representatives. You can search by county or zip code: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/GIS/RandR07/Representation.html

Guilford County Delegation:

Senate:    (Office Line/E-mail Address)

Senator Phil Berger (919) 733-5708 Phil.Berger@ncleg.net

Senator Katie Dorsett (919) 715-3042 Katie.Dorsett@ncleg.net

Senator Don Vaughan (919) 733-5856 Don.Vaughan@ncleg.net

Senator Stan Bingham (919) 733-5665 Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net

House:

Rep. Alma Adams (919) 733-5902 Alma.Adams@ncleg.net

Rep. John Blust (919) 733-5781 John.Blust@ncleg.net

Rep. Maggie Jeffus (919) 733-5191 Maggie.Jeffus@ncleg.net

Rep. Earl Jones (919) 733-5825 Earl.Jones@ncleg.net

Rep. Pricey Harrison (919) 733-5771 Pricey.Harrison@ncleg.net

Rep. Laura Wiley (919) 733-5877 Laura.Wiley@ncleg.net

Senate and House Leadership:

Senate:

President Pro Tem Basnight (919) 733-6854 Marc.Basnight@ncleg.net

David Hoyle (Rules Chair) (919) 733-5734 David.Hoyle@ncleg.net

Martin Nesbitt (Maj. Leader) (919) 715-3001 Martin.Nesbitt@ncleg.net

Appropriations Chairs:

Linda Garrou (919) 733-5620 Linda.Garrou@ncleg.net

AB Swindell (919) 715-3030 AB.Swindell@ncleg.net

Charlie Albertson (919) 733-5705 Charlie.Albertson@ncleg.net

Charlie Dannelly (919) 733-5955 Charlie.Dannelly@ncleg.net

Finance Chairs:

Clark Jenkins (919) 715-3040 Clark.Jenkins@ncleg.net

Dan Clodfelter (919) 715-8331 Daniel.Clodfelter@ncleg.net

Appropriations Sub-Committee on Education Chairs:

Richard Stevens (919) 733-5653 Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net

Tony Foriest (919) 301-1446 Tony.Foriest@ncleg.net

House:

Speaker Joe Hackney (919) 733-3451 Joe.Hackney@ncleg.net

Bill Owens (Rules Chair) (919) 733-0010 Bill.Owens@ncleg.net

Hugh Holliman (Maj. Leader) (919) 715-0873 Hugh.Holliman@ncleg.net

Appropriations Chairs:

Mickey Michaux (919) 715-2528 Mickey.Michaux@ncleg.net

Jim Crawford (919) 733-5824 Jim.Crawford@ncleg.net

Doug Yongue (919) 733-5821 Douglas.Yongue@ncleg.net

Alma Adams (919) 733-5902 Alma.Adams@ncleg.net

Phil Haire (919)715-3005 Phillip.Haire@ncleg.net

Maggie Jeffus (919)733-5191 Maggie.Jeffus@ncleg.net

Joe Tolson (919)715-3024 Joe.Tolson@ncleg.net

Finance Chairs:

Jennifer Weiss (919)715-3010 Jennifer.Weiss@ncleg.net

Paul Luebke (919)733-7663 Paul.Luebke@ncleg.net

Pryor Gibson (919)715-3007 Pryor.Gibson@ncleg.net

William Wainwright (919)733-5995 William.Wainwright@ncleg.net

Appropriations Sub-committee on Education Chairs:

Rick Glazier (919)733-5601 Rick.Glazier@ncleg.net

Marian McLawhorn (919)733-5757 Marian.McLawhorn@ncleg.net

Ray Rapp (919)733-5732 Ray.Rapp@ncleg.net