UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

Education Dean Search Finalists and Interview Dates

Finalists have been announced in the search for the next dean of the School of Education. They will interview on campus in late August and early September.“We invite you to meet the four excellent candidates and to examine each finalist’s application letter and CV. Meetings have been set up for specific groups and all are invited to the public presentation and reception on the first day,” said Dr. Clara M. Chu, chair of the SOE Dean Search Committee.

She noted that the latest version of each candidate’s itinerary will be available at the SOE news page at http://www.uncg.edu/soe/news/index.html. Their application letters and CV’s are posted there as well.

“We appreciate your participation in selecting our next UNCG School of Education Dean and invite you to participate in our online feedback process. Your input will be considered by the SOE Dean Search Committee and Provost David Perrin in our deliberations to select the next SOE Dean.”

Finalists and itineraries:

Aug. 25 arrival, Aug. 26-27 interview
Chriss Walther-Thomas
Chair, Department of Special Education, University of Kansas
Public presentation followed by reception: Aug. 26, 3:30 pm – Elliott University Center Auditorium

Aug. 29 arrival, Aug. 30-31 interview
Karen Wixson
Professor and past Dean, School of Education, University of Michigan
Public presentation followed by reception: Aug. 30, 3:30 pm – Elliott University Center Auditorium

Aug. 31 arrival, Sept. 1-2 interview
Van O. Dempsey, III
Dean, School of Education, Health and Human Performance, Fairmont State University
Public presentation followed by reception: Sept. 1, 3:30 pm – Curry Building Auditorium (room 225)

Sept. 7 arrival, Sept. 8-9 interview
Phyllis Metcalf-Turner
Chair, Department of Curriculum & Instruction, Illinois State University
Public presentation preceded by reception at 12:45 p.m.: Sept. 8, 1:30 p.m. – Virginia Dare Room, Alumni House