UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

‘Extraordinary contributions’ cited at Faculty & Staff Excellence Awards

041013Feature_Awards2“Inspirational stories will be heard,” Chancellor Linda P. Brady said in previewing the 2013 UNCG Faculty and Staff Excellence Awards ceremony last Friday in EUC Auditorium. And with each award that was presented, they were.

“We are honoring individuals who have made sustained contributions to this university,” she noted. At the ceremony, attendees learned about the passion those honored have and the philosophies that drive them.

A banner on the stage read, “We’re dreamers and doers.”

For each recipient, a short video was shown. The clips showed some of those dreams and especially what they have done for our students and our university.

The student video artists who created the clips were Benjamin Boyles, Damon Card, Justin Frasier-Wright, Elizabeth Hornshuh, Casey Palin, James Realubit, Angel Singletary and Brad Tarnowsk. The practicum was led by Michael Frierson (Media Studies).

Those who received awards were:
Alumni Teaching Excellence Awards
Dr. Susan Letvak (Adult Health Nursing) – Tenured Faculty
Dr. Chiaki Takagi (Languages, Literatures and Cultures) – Nontenured Faculty

Board of Governors Award for Excellence in Teaching
Dr. Lisa Tolbert ( History)

Gladys Strawn Bullard Awards
Chris Fay (Grounds) – Staff
Dr. James Evans (English) – Faculty
Meredith Swain – Student

Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award
Dr. Nancy Hodges (Consumer Apparel and Retail Studies)

Staff Excellence Awards
Ray Carney (Chemistry & Biochemistry)
Jenni Rikkola (Nursing)

Student Learning Enhancement Awards
Dr. Jeff Sarbaum (Economics)
Dr. Michelle Sheran (Economics)

Service pins were awarded to the following:
30 years
Dr. Bruce Banks
Dr. Jodi Bilinkoff
Kathryn Crowe
Dr. Anthony Fragola
Jerome Hayes
Dr. Timothy Johnston
Dr. Al Link
Dr. John Locke
Setenna Tanksley
Dr. Larry Taube
Ann Venable
Patricia Wasserboehr
Clifton Whitman
Raymond Williams

35 years
Dr. Stuart Allen
Mark Bell
Dr. James Clotfelter
Mary Conger
Chris Russell
Cynthia Slater
Dr. Jeffrey Soles
Dr. Susan Stinson
Neal Thacker

40 years
Dr. Robert Cannon

The service pins are “only a token – but it symbolizes our respect for them and our thanks,” said the chancellor.

She paid special note to the year’s only 40-year service pin recipient, Dr. Rob Cannon. His service to our university and to science students is well-known. She explained that when she first met him, he suggested they go to a UNCG institution: Yum Yum. She still recalls his introducing her to the black cherry ice cream at the longtime campus landmark.

By Mike Harris
Photo on this page: Dr. Jeff Sarbaum and Dr. Michelle Sheran, after the ceremony. Photo on main page: Chancellor Brady presents award to Dr. Chiaki Takagi. Photography by Wesley Brown.