UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

Athletics at UNCG

UNCG competes in NCAA Division I athletics in the Southern Conference men’s and women’s sports.

The Faculty Senate monitors our intercollegiate athletics program through the Faculty Committee on Intercollegiate Athletics (FCIA). Membership of FCIA includes faculty representatives from most units on campus, plus one faculty senator, three students representing various groups and ex officio members from the Department of Athletics. The current chair of FCIA is Dr. Ambrose Jones, associate professor in the Bryan School of Business and Economics.

As stated in the bylaws of the UNCG Faculty Senate, the primary concern of FCIA is the academic welfare of student athletes and the overall integrity of the intercollegiate athletics program. The committee wishes for the UNCG community to be aware that the charge of FCIA includes “being available to hear and act on complaints and suggestions about intercollegiate athletics from the faculty, students, and other members of the university community.” If anyone in the UNCG community has constructive suggestions or concerns about athletics, feel free to contact any FCIA representative, listed below with their campus affiliation:

Faculty Members

Business & Economics
Ambrose Jones, Chair, ambrose.jones.iii@uncg.edu

College of Arts & Sciences
Jeff Colbert, mjcolber@uncg.edu

School of Education
Craig Cashwell, cscashwe@uncg.edu

Health & Human Sciences
Scott Ross, seross@uncg.edu

Music, Theatre & Dance
Chip Haas, cehaas@uncg.edu

School of Nursing
Jacqueline DeBrew, jacqueline_debrew@uncg.edu

University Libraries
Beth Ann Koelsch, bakoelsc@uncg.edu

Senate Liaison
Anna Craft, arcraft@uncg.edu

Student Members

Student Athletic Association
Roy Dixon, rgdixon@uncg.edu

Student Government Association
Nahkeya Spencer, nbspence@uncg.edu

Graduate Student Association
Elizabeth Hansen, emhansen@uncg.edu

Adjunct and Ex Officio Members

Faculty Athletics Representative
David Wyrick, dlwyrick@uncg.edu

Director of Athletics
Kim Record, ksrecord@uncg.edu

Associate Director of Athletics
Jennifer Sansevero, jswivell@uncg.edu