UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

Enjoy UNCG music – and dance – live via the web, in Spring 2015

Photo from past musical performanceEnjoying a UNCG Music performance is always a wonderful experience.

You can’t get to a particular performance? It may be one of the many that will be live streamed, so you can enjoy it with the click of mouse.

What’s more, for the first time, UNCG will live stream a dance event. UNCG’s BFA Thesis Dance Concert on April 25 in the Dance Theatre will showcase outstanding UNCG undergraduates in the School of Music, Theatre and Dance.

Dean Peter Alexander said, “Our live streaming allows more people than ever before to enjoy the arts at UNCG. By presenting for the first time a UNCG dance performance live on our site, we are able to display even more of the immense talent and artistic skill of our students.”

Dance events, which are ticketed, are a source of revenue, so streaming them will probably be limited to one or two per semester, says Matt Libera, UNCG Performing Arts Technology Consultant and Webmaster.

The line-up of web-streamed events:

February 2015

  • Carolina Band Festival – Symphonic Band & Wind Ensemble – Friday, February 13, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • University Band – Tuesday, February 17, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • Jazz Ensembles I & II – Friday, February 20, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • University Symphony Orchestra – Friday, February 27, 2015 – 7:30 pm

March 2015

  • University Chorale – Sunday, March 1, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • Sinfonia – Tuesday, March 3, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • Present~Continuous – Wednesday, March 25, 2015 – 7:30 pm

April 2015

  • Percussion Ensemble – Tuesday, April 7, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • Jazz Ensemble II – Sunday, April 19, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • University Band and Symphonic Band – Tuesday, April 21, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • Wind Ensemble – Thursday, April 23, 2015 – 7:30 pm
  • BFA Thesis Dance Concert – Saturday, April 25, 2015 – 2:00 pm
  • Men’s and Women’s Glee – Saturday, April 25, 2015 – 3:30 pm
  • University Chorale and Chamber Singers – Sunday, April 26, 2015 – 3:30 pm
  • University Symphony Orchestra & Sinfonia – Monday, April 27, 2015 – 7:30 pm

If you need help or have questions, see the FAQ’s at http://performingarts.uncg.edu/events/smtd-live.

By Mike Harris