UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

Michael Parker honored at NC Writers’ Conference

Photo of Michael ParkerMichael Parker, who holds the Dr. Nicholas A. Vacc and Dr. Nancy N. Vacc Distinguished Professorship in the MFA Creative Writing Program, was honored this summer at the annual North Carolina Writers’ Conference, with tributes from Associate Writing Program Director Terry Kennedy, Our State editor and UNCG alumna Elizabeth Hudson, and editor Kathy Pories of Algonquin Books. The North Carolina Writers Conference was begun in 1950 and is held annually in cities across the state to discuss issues related to writing and writers in North Carolina. Past honorees of the conference include Doris Betts, Reynolds Price, Fred Chappell, Robert Morgan, John Hope Franklin and Kathryn Stripling Byer.

Parker was also chosen to serve as a juror for the 2015 O. Henry Awards: Prize Stories. The O. Henry Prize Stories is an annual collection of the year’s twenty best stories published in American and Canadian magazines, written in English. The series began in 1918 and is now published by Anchor Books, an imprint of Random House. Each year, three distinguished fiction writers are chosen to be jurors. Past jurors include Jennifer Egan, Ann Patchett, Richard Russo,  Francine Prose, Colm Toibin, Ursula K. LeGuin, A.S. Byatt, Anthony Doerr, Tim O’Brien, Junot Diaz, and David Foster Wallace.

Parker has taught in the MFA Creative Writing Program since 1992. His stories have twice appeared in the O.Henry Prize Stories anthology.