UNCG Campus Weekly

Campus Weekly is published each Wednesday when classes are in session. In the summer, it is published biweekly.

Kim Record named chair of NCAA DI Competition Oversight Committee

photo of RecordDirector of Athletics Kim Record has been named chair of the NCAA Division I Competition Oversight Committee. Record began her tenure this summer and her term as chair will run until June, 2019. The committee consists of 19 members: 10 Division I council members, eight non-council members and one SAAC representative.

“It is an honor to serve as chair of the Competition Oversight Committee,” Record said. “Our goal is to be inclusive, responsive and transparent with the membership as we monitor, evaluate and enhance the student-athlete championship experience.”

Record has been an active member in NCAA national committees during her career. In addition to the chair of the Competition Oversight Committee, she is currently a member of the NCAA Division I Council as the representative for the Southern Conference. Also, she has been a member of the NCAA women’s soccer committee and championship cabinet.

The Competition Oversight Committee has oversight responsibility of regular season and championships administration in sports other than football and men’s and women’s basketball, including supervision of qualification and/or selection procedures for Division I and National Collegiate Championships. The committee prioritizes enhancement of the student-athlete’s educational experience (academically and athletically) and, in doing so, promotes student-athletes’ personal growth and leadership development.

The Competition Oversight Committee reviews recommendations from sports committees and processes other issues related to the administration of those championships. The sports committees (other than football and men’s and women’s basketball) report directly to the Competition Oversight Committee.

Record is in her ninth year as director of athletics at UNCG.

She was named one of 28 Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year award recipients at the 2014 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Convention in Orlando in the NCAA Division I-AAA category.